Fleece begets Fleece

.:Multi Coloured Sheep:.  The sheep farmer near Bathgate, Scotland, has been dying his sheep with nontoxic dye since 2007 to entertain passing motorists...

The other day I was looking at a retweeted photo of multi-coloured Scottish sheep by Leigh Ann Montgomery. Apparently the sheep farmer near Bathgate, Scotland, has been dying his sheep with non-toxic dye since 2007 to entertain passing motorists.

The cheerful photo in turn triggered off memories of synthetic fleece jackets that I was so fond of wearing years ago when I lived in the country, as warmth was of the essence due to outdoor living. So I went in search of Blackfield Studio Clothing of whom I’d remembered was designer of said fleece jackets and the like. I was unsurprised to discover that the company was still in business in Achill Island, Co. Mayo, and still creating the quirky designed clothing that I absolutely adored in the past.

I linked a few of the designs via Twitter. They’re as cheerful looking in colour as the sheep above. The red hooded fleece one reminds me of a red polka – dot fleece throw over I purchased in Guiney’s in an exchange purchase. It was on sale, so I thought why not go all red because of the season that’s in it.

Women’s Poncho by BlackfieldClothing http://etsy.me/19LyKqp via @Etsy

 View photo

  Marie-T. O’Loughlin ‏@MarieTherese39

Fleece Scarf by BlackfieldClothing http://etsy.me/1iyHiIX via @Etsy

 Marie-T. O’Loughlin ‏@MarieTherese39

Ladies Fleece Hooded CoatShort by BlackfieldClothing http://etsy.me/1iySQMo via @Etsy

 View photo

I should add, that fleece used in Blackfield jackets, ponchos, hats & scarves are made only from highest quality synthetic fleece material.

I discovered that Blackfield fleece clothing designer was German. Maybe she got Celtic bias binding idea from German traditional clothing?

What I particularly liked about Blackfield fleece jackets were Book of Kells/Celtic bias binding edges. Reminded me of Swiss edelweiss edges

Expand

 Marie-T. O’Loughlin ‏@MarieTherese39

When I lived in the country, I was so fond of wearing fleece jackets. I adored quirky Blackfield, Achill Island ones. http://www.blackfieldclothing.ie/ 

Leave a Reply

